Board of Supervisors


  • 2nd Thursday of each month @ 6 p.m.
  • 628 Lake Street NE
    Conference Room A
    Wise, VA 24293

The Regular Meeting is the Voting Session where issues, resolutions, ordinances, etc. are actually voted upon to become law. Special meetings are sometimes called in order to address issues that may arise between the regular scheduled meetings. All meetings are open to the public unless a Closed Session is called.

Board meetings are open to the public unless a Closed Session is called as allowed under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

If you would like to address the Board, you can speak during the designated Public Expression period as indicated in the Meeting Agenda, each individual is allotted a maximum time as approved by the Board. For more information, contact Becky Mullins.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


District 1

District 2

District 3

District 4

Duties & Responsibilities

Wise County, Virginia is governed by an eight-member Board of Supervisors elected by district. The County is divided into four voting districts with two Supervisors elected from each district. Each Supervisor serves a four year term with each district's two members selected on a two-year staggered basis.

The Board appoints a County Administrator who oversees the day-to-day operations of the County. The position is currently held by Michael W Hatfield. Andre' Villiard currently serves as the County's Finance Director who oversees the day-to-day financial activities of the County. Karen Mullins serves as the County Attorney.

Commission, Committee & Board Interest

If you are interested in being appointed by the Board of Supervisors to one of the Commissions, Committees or Boards, please submit a completed Application for Appointment to the County Administrator's Office.